Twenty20 World cup preview: Group C

June 2, 2009 at 12:33 pm Leave a comment


It’s not common for an Australian side to enter a major tournament as not the favourites. The Australians will look to go one better than in 07 when they lost to India in the semi finals. They will try their best not to be distracted but will want to build momentum going into an Ashes summer. They boast a strong limited overs side, but one without last tournaments leading run scorer Mathew Hayden. They will be keen to be more efficient in the group stages, where they suffered a shock defeat to Kenya two years ago. The team is built on a strong top order batting line up. Big hitters Haddin and Watson provide the early Initiative with the relaible Ponting, M Hussey and M Clarke following up. The bowling attack had an uneasy showing in the first warm up win over Bangladesh, their slower bowlers in particular looked off-touch. The fast bowlers will still pose a major threat to any side in the competition. They are likely to go a long way in this tournament.

Key man: Andrew Symonds. Keen to prove a point after being left out of the Ashes squad. T20 has allowed him to play his natural aggresive way and was a star performer in the IPL. His bowling will also be handy in taking pace off the ball.

Squad: Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke (vice captain), Nathan Bracken, Brad Haddin (wk), Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Peter Siddle, Andrew Symonds, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Sri Lanka

It’s their first outing as a team since being attacked in Lahore but mentally they are ready for this tournament. They are always up for the big events and are likely to pip West indies to the super 8s.. Sangakkara takes charge of the side for the first time in a major event since Jaywardene’s resignation. The squad contains some good limited over players in the economical Maharoof and the lethal Yasith Malinga. Malinga has added some accuracy and consistency to his quick bowling. With spin likely to have a huge impact in the tournament, Sri Lanka bring over the dangerous spin duo of Mendis and Muralilitharan. Sanath Jayasuriya, aged 39, has strayed away from retirement to form a potential explosive partnership with Dilshan. Even at his age he is still capable of terrorising the best international bowlers. While Dilshan has continued to excel in this format. The team possesses a wealth of bowling options for Sangakkara, which¬†will need to be complemented by effective rotation.¬†

Key player: Kumar Sangakkara. The skipper has always been the mainstay of the Sri Lanka innings but with the experience of the IPL, he has integrated more attacking strokes into his game. Will act as an inspiration for Sri Lanka.

Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), Muttiah Muralitharan, Sanath Jayasuriya, T.M. Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Silva, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana, Farveez Maharoof, Jehan Mubarak, Indika de Saram.

West Indies

Failure to progress last time has seen WI drawn into a difficult group. Their chances have been dealt a further blow by entering the tournament without a win on their tour to England. Momentum is not on their side but they will argue that they are most suited to this form of cricket. They are given the added advantage of having played in these conditions recentlly but will still face an uphill battle to go through. All-rounder Dwanye Bravo will be an important player with both bat and ball. Chris Gayle will be looked upon to provide the early fireworks and lay the foundations for a big total. Shivnarine Chanderpaul has suffered from indifferent form but will always be key to any WI total. They will need Fidel Edwards and Bravo bowling at their best as there remains some reservations about the ability of the other bowlers.

Key player: Chris Gayle. Explosive opener will be looked upon to provide the fireworks early on. Is hitting the ball well but needs to stretch out his injnings longer. His spin option will also be useful.

Squad: Chris Gayle (capt), Denesh Ramdin (wk), Lionel Baker, Sulieman Benn, David Bernard., Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Xavier Marshall, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor.


Entry filed under: Cricket.

Twenty20 World cup preview: Group B Twenty20 World cup preview: Group D

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

England Cricket

Write an Article for EnglandCricket

If you are interested in writing an article (no pay) for EnglandCricket then please contact me on:

Blog Stats

  • 48,013 hits

Cricinfo Latest

News [clearspring_widget title="Cricinfo Latest News" wid="484cf1417af6cdc3" pid="4a2fac9d1853503a" width="400" height="300" domain=""] Scorecards [clearspring_widget title="Cricinfo International Scores" wid="482c264908cd8b29" pid="4a23c1ba67f633c7" width="300" height="250" domain=""]

%d bloggers like this: