2008 International team of the year

January 5, 2009 at 1:11 pm 3 comments

At the end of a fantastic year in international cricket, England cricket had a look at the best players of 2008. The team will contain 5 batters, 1 all-rounder, 1 wicket keeper, 4 bowlers

Virenda Sehwag – Returned to test cricket this year with a flourish, explosive batting at the top of the innings setting the tone for a successful Indian summer. Instrumental in the Chennai test win against England, as well as scoring 319 off 304 balls against South Africa at the same ground. 2008 test average of 56 with a sensational strike rate of 85. Similar story in the ODI game and scoring big scores consistently.

Graeme Smith – Captain has lead from the front this year, scoring 1656 test runs at a superb average of 72 despite suffering from a elbow injury. A key part of South Africa’s rise in test cricket and played his part in 2 series winning run chases.

Sivnarine Chanderpaul – ICC player of the year has continued to excel in that anchor role for the West Indies. In 16 innings scoring 909 runs but the important figure is 7 not outs that have contributed to an average of 101.

Kevin Pietersen – England’s best batsmen in both forms of the game and will be a key part of the 2009 campaign. The decision to take on the captaincy hasn’t affected from so far and has also added an useful off spin option to the team.

AB De Villiers – Seen as a player not suited to test cricket, he has proved his critics wrong with a series of determined innings. Playing with the freedom shown in ODI matches and has been a solid middle order batsmen this year with an test average of 58.

Andrew Flintoff – In the team more for his bowling than batting. Recovered from injury and is still the bowler that terrorises the best batting attacks. England’s best bowler in both formats and has been unplayable in some matches. Seems to be getting into some form with the bat and will be a vital part of 2009 for England

MS Dhoni – Best keeper/batsman since Gilchrist, consistent run scorer and tidy behind the stumps. Explosive middle order batsman and can take away a game with his aggressive style. Captaincy has also been very good.

Mitchell Johnson – Seems to be revelling in the position as being one of Australia’s senior bowlers. Struggled at first but has finally settled into the international arena. It has been a consistent year for Johnson, mixing pace with swing, collecting 63 wickets at 29.01

Dale Steyn – Has finally realised his potential to end the year as the best test bowler. Bowls with fiery pace, accuracy and manages to exert swing. Difficult to play but will need to stay fit. Collected 74 wickets at 20.01 in test cricket, a phenomenal return.

Zaheer Khan – Probably the best left arm bowler on the international circuit. Bowls with great accuracy and swing and has proved difficult to play fro right handers. A Prime example of player benefiting from the IPL, has now become a reliable limited overs bowler featuring mainly within the powerplays.

Ajantha Mendis – Has risen into the international scene from nowhere and looks a bowler capable of challenging Muralilitharan’s wicket record. He has outshone Murali this year, with an average of 18 in test and 10 in ODIs, he is sure to cause many more batsmen the same problem this year.


Entry filed under: Cricket.

England bowlers lacking quality – Changes needed Kevin Pietersen’s demands are unreasonable

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sanath  |  January 5, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    I’m ur old friend. Remember v had last met in link exchange for my other site (Cricket Ahead). Now, I’ve started another cricket blog on similar lines. A link from your site to mine vud be just awesome.Hav a nice day.

  • 2. Crico  |  January 6, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Mostly spot on! I think that Sharma should be instead of johnson, and Kallis instead of flintoff

  • 3. topspeeds  |  September 21, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Mostly spot on! I think that Sharma should be instead of johnson, and Kallis instead of flintoff



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

England Cricket

Write an Article for EnglandCricket

If you are interested in writing an article (no pay) for EnglandCricket then please contact me on:

Blog Stats

  • 48,013 hits

Cricinfo Latest

News [clearspring_widget title="Cricinfo Latest News" wid="484cf1417af6cdc3" pid="4a2fac9d1853503a" width="400" height="300" domain="www.widgets.cricinfo.com"] Scorecards [clearspring_widget title="Cricinfo International Scores" wid="482c264908cd8b29" pid="4a23c1ba67f633c7" width="300" height="250" domain="www.widgets.cricinfo.com"]

%d bloggers like this: