Vaughan confident of return to Test side

November 25, 2008 at 10:54 am Leave a comment


vaughanFormer Captian Michael Vaughan is confident that he can force his way back
into the team in time for the tour of the West Indies. Vaughan, who hasn’t
played since taking a break after giving up the captiancy, is part of the performance squad training in India. He is hoping a couple of good performances for the performance squad can force himself back into the thoughts of the selectors.

“I want to push to get back into the England side. We have games in Bangalore and Mumbai so hopefully I’ll get a few runs and push for a place on the Caribbean tour. I believe I’ve got a great opportunity of getting back in.” – Michael Vaughan on BBC Test Match Special

Vaughan resigned as captain on 3 August after losing the test series with
South Africa to be replaced by Kevin Pietersen. He ended the year in bad form, failing to get a decent score in the County Championship with Yorkshire. However, he recieved a central contract in September to confirm that he is still part of England’s plans. He has been left out of the two – test series with India but good form can get him back in the reckoning in time for the Caribbean tour

England play a four-Test series in the West Indies, beginning in Jamaica on
4 February, before a home series against either Sri Lanka or West Indies, followed by the Ashes against Australia in the summer of 2009.

“Over the last two or three months I’ve tried to clear my mind of all the issues I felt were disturbing my game and I feel in a great position to go out there, play cricket and enjoy the challenges which being an international player bring, It won’t be easy because there are some very good players in the team at the minute. My challenge is to put them under pressure and hopefully try and force my way back into the team come January.

“I’ve had five-and-a-half years as captain and I feel I contributed more as a leader than as a player. I want to get back to contributing as a good player who can hopefully score plenty of runs.” – Michael Vaughan on BBC Test Match Special

The four match test series in the West Indies begins on February 4, followed
by a test series against Sri Lanka or West Indies, in the summer. That series
is followed by the Ashes and Kevin Pietersen will be desperate to bring back
the experience of Vaughan, who captained the side to an Ashes win in 2005. Vaughan himself is eager to face the Australians and gain revenge after the 5-0 whitewash in Australia, which followed England’s Ashes win in 2005.

“I’m really excited about the next year or so. We’ve got Australia next summer and I’d love to be able to play against them. I need to get my form right and I feel that with the state of mind I’m in I will do that. If that diminishes or I get told by the selectors there’s no chance I’ll play for England again then I’ll probably have to look at decisions over where I want to take my future.”

An in form Vaughan will be a vital part of an England team if it is to beat the Australians. He has a good record against the Australians scoring 959 runs at an average of 47.95, which inclues 4 100s but where will he fit in to the current England Test side?

His presence will put pressure on Andrew Strauss, Paul Collingwood and Ian Bell who struggled throughout the summer Test series this year. His inlcusion will also depend on whether England decide to play 5 bowlers, 5 batsmen or 4 bowlers 6 batsmen. Paul Collingwood who has been struggling for form in all formats recently, is most under threat and will need a good test series to starve off the threat of the former captian.

Entry filed under: Cricket.

England should turn to Luke Wright to restore pride England call off ODIs with India after terror attacks in Mumbai

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


England Cricket

Write an Article for EnglandCricket



If you are interested in writing an article (no pay) for EnglandCricket then please contact me on:
englandcricket1[at]gmail[dot]com

Blog Stats

  • 47,439 hits

Cricinfo Latest

News [clearspring_widget title="Cricinfo Latest News" wid="484cf1417af6cdc3" pid="4a2fac9d1853503a" width="400" height="300" domain="www.widgets.cricinfo.com"] Scorecards [clearspring_widget title="Cricinfo International Scores" wid="482c264908cd8b29" pid="4a23c1ba67f633c7" width="300" height="250" domain="www.widgets.cricinfo.com"]

